Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Calling all Layout Experts. Need suggestions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    hero

Be Gentle

I’m a web applications developer and NOT a designer. Our over-paid designers use FrontPage, which I believe still exists in an empty hall of the Smithsonian. Each of them must have suffered a childhood trauma that led them down a dark path of refusing to accept events that happened after they graduated.

I decided to pick up the torch and work on our redesign. However, because they have a phobia of div tags, I’m hesitant to use 960 or blueprint. I’m afraid being terminated for causing their eyes to physically pop out of their heads when they see:

(They are still using table layouts and cant understand div statements)

We do not have a need for a twenty-four column grid and I am not a fan of the overhead. Somewhere in the world a rock was lifted and we have many 56k users. So, I put together a small solution hoping it would be easy enough for them to create equal column layouts with HTML 5:

Styles

section.layout
    {
    width: 90%; min-width: 960px; overflow: hidden; margin: 0 auto
    }

section.layout > section
    {
    margin: 0 1%; float: left
    }

section.columns-1 > section
    {
    width: 98%
    }

section.columns-2 > section
    {
    width: 48%
    }

section.columns-3 > section
    {
    width: 31.3%
    }

section.columns-4 > section
    {
    width: 23%
    }

Code

This is the first column

This is the second column

This is the thirdcolumn

Jquery Widget

I want to avoid them having to write classes on each column like the other layout systems. They will forget and are not comfortable using style sheets. I may eliminate the need completely using a jquery widget I’m working on. The widget would count the amount of embeded sections inside a section and add the appropriate classes.