Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Bullet alignment in unordered list (IE7)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    evilhita666

Hello, I’m new to the forums, my real name is Carlos and I’m a 26 year-old back-end programmer (mostly J2EE) from Colombia that is currently getting into the realm of front-end design…

Now onto the subject… I’m working in a little, yet important, project to get myself used to xhtml and css, and with help of this site I’ve been able to solve a lot of weird behaviors except the one I will describe next.

I have a side navigation bar with an accordion widget from the jQueryUI library. Each accordion level has a content area with a unordered list of some navigation links as you can see in the screenshot below taken in Firefox 3.5 (sorry for the crappy quality):[attachment=1]ole000.JPG[/attachment]

As you can see, the bullets align nicely with the middle of the links, it also works smoothly in Safari 4, Opera 10, Chrome 3 and IE8, but when I switch to IE7, the bullets align to the baseline of the "il" element and it looks terrible, not to mention it disorients the user, as you can see in the following screenshot (forgive the squared corners, hehehe):
    [attachment=0]ole001.JPG[/attachment]

I tried messing around with the vertical-align property but haven’t been able to get the desired result (the one in the first screenshot)… Alingning to "top" places the bullet way too high…

Here’s some (hopefully) relevant markup:

XHTML (Strict): Outline of menu

CSS: Style for the menu

Code:
    #nav {
    float: left;
    width: 256px;
    }

#accordion{
    font-size: 12px;
    text-align: left;
    padding: 40px 0 0 5px;
    margin: 0 30px 0 0;
    }

#accordion h3{
    font-size: 12px;
    height: 20px;
    padding: 5px 0 0 22px;
    }

#accordion ul{
    color: #df0015;
    list-style-type: disc;
    }

#accordion a:link{