Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Browser upgrade option

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hi,

I am new to CSS, While working on a project i got an idea, instead of writing a code for cross-browser compatibity, why not give an option to upgrade the browser linked to the respective browser websites and upgrade option then and there within the browser, So that the user stays updated and we don’t have to break our heads with cross-browser compatability.

Guys, if you have any suggestions or ideas in this regard, please reply to my post.

Rob MacKay
    Participant

yup there are lots of sites that now do this for IE6, Chris actually has a tutorial on CSS Tricks for something like that…

https://css-tricks.com/ie-6-blocker-script/

There are lots of others if you search the web along those lines :)

thanks a lot but that one is only suggesting an upgrade, i want an option for the browser to automatically upgrade on its own.

st1001
    "rchaitanyareddy" wrote:
    thanks a lot but that one is only suggesting an upgrade, i want an option for the browser to automatically upgrade on its own.

Even if this was possible, it is not only not unethical, but illegal in most if not all countries. It would be no different than someone spreading a virus or malware program.

If you don’t like the way your site displays in a certain browser, just give a note to the user that it won’t look correctly with their browser, and that they should use something else.

Steve