Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Brand New to This

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Justin L Savage
    Participant

Hey there! My name is Justin and I am fairly new to the web design world. I’m pretty comfortable with HTML, CSS, Javascript/JQuery; but I think I would like to start designing websites for money. However, I’m only in high school. Do I need more education and/or is it too early for me to be doing this? (And too add to a long list of questions) If It’s time for me to start, how do I begin?

• Thanks
    Alen
    Participant

To early… HELL NO. But there’s A LOT you must learn to run viable/sustainable business.

Starting with this. IMO would be more beneficial than any coding you might learn. Things like client relations play pivotal role in getting business.

And the most important part. Learn how to say NO.

how do I begin?

Take 8×10 printer paper, print “I do web design and development, call me at … ” and place it around your town. When people call explain your situation (I’m new, willing to learn, to collaborate, etc) tell them the truth.

You do not want to start any relationship with the lie. It will come back to bite you.

If you don’t get anything, just start developing a small brochure like website for your favorite team or your local high school chess club or whatever… get some work done and use it as portfolio pieces.

Another option would be to get an internship and learn as much as possible, not just the coding part, but how your boss interacts with clients, ask him/her to take you into client meetings, etc… be interested in any (all) aspects of business.

Hope that helps.

-Alen

Justin L Savage
    Participant

Thanks guys! Great Advice!

Alen
    Participant

I should also mention this.

It’s always hard before it’s easy.