Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Best Way to Output Data (PHP+HTML or PHP->JSON+JS+HTML)?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    RickyYoder
    Participant

TLDR: -Hi. I’m new. I’m only 16, and not an expert. -Should I loop through SQL result sets and output them with HTML, or store them in a JSON array to output later with JS? -Don’t even MENTION IE

Hello everybody! My first post here so I hope I can come to closure on this!

To start off, since it’s my first post, I want to let you all know that I’m no expert.

I’m no David Walsh, Chris Coyier, or John Resig. I’m just 16, but still interested in this stuff nonetheless.

I often find myself arguing with and questioning myself on what the best thing to do is, and for the past few days I’ve been wondering what the best way to output data is with PHP.

Ever since I created sites, they’ve always been small social networks, and output things like forum posts, blog posts, chat messages, and so on.

I usually just loop through the results of a query and do this:

<?php
    $result = mysqli_query($db,"SELECT * FROM `chat` ORDER BY `time` ASC");
    while($message = mysqli_fetch_assoc($result)){
        echo "<div class=\"chat-message\">".$message['user'].":".$message['message']."</div>";
    }

?>

But for the past week or so, I’ve been asking myself whether or not that is the BEST way to output my data. What I thought was that instead of doing that, I could do something like this (my code wasn’t showing as a “block code”, so here’s plain text):

$result = mysqli_query($db,”SELECT * FROM chat ORDER BY time ASC”); $json = array(); while($message = mysqli_fetch_assoc($result)){ $json[] = $message; } return json_encode($json);

To return JSON, and have the DOM create the HTML/CSS to format the raw text data.