Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Best way to build a WordPress site so it can be moved

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bonniegomes

Hello everyone!

This is my first time in the forums at CSS-Tricks but I have been following the site for a long time. A big thanks to Chris and all involved for this incredible resource.

The question:

I am reasonably new to WordPress and have decided to use it as a CMS for the redesigning of a client’s existing website. (Please don’t start a CMS vs Blog debate). I was wondering if anyone had any advice about the best way to setup wordpress so that it can be moved to the root directory of the client’s hosting once development is complete.

It doesn’t seem easy from what I have read especially with regard to way WordPress uses full URL paths to images etc.

An example:

Say my client has a live site at "www.example.com". Is it best to setup WordPress in a subdirectory like "www.example.com/temp" while I’m working on it? Then try and move the site to the root when it’s time to replace the old site and "go live’?

Surely this is a problem commonly faced. Any advice at all about the best way to build a WordPress site so that is can easily be moved to replace and existing live site would be very much appreciated.

Also I was wondering how many of you use the image uploading within WordPress and how many use you’re own FTP programs? And when you add images to pages/posts do you code it yourself or use the WordPress buttons and let WordPress code it for you? It doesn’t seem as easy as you would hope to FTP your images to a folder and insert them via a relative path.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

cybershot
    Participant