Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript autoplaying Featured Content-Slider

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    janthemanson

Hi there!

Im a newbie in jquery and javascript. I’m trying to solve a problem with an autoplaying Featured Content-Slider.
    I’ve seen enough tutorials about sliders and found the easiest way for me is the one featured athttp://webdeveloperplus.com/jquery/featured-content-slider-using-jquery-ui/.

I’ve customized this one, so that I have one big main image, with this little dots as control instead of images and a caption that moves from the bottom up into the image. Thats working so far.

Here’s a little mockup: [img]http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2661/4177106855_54b83e1895_o.jpg[/img]

In addition I want to fade in prev/next buttons on the right and left side over the main image.
    I found this article here on css-tricks: http://css-tricks.com/jquery-ui-tabs-with-nextprevious/

My question, is it possible to implemet this in the way I discribed this? Or is it more appropriate to use another solution for this kind of slide? Maybe would anybody help me out with implementing and optimizing this code, because I’m really a noob.

I think this would be great stuff for a additional tutorial/example here on css-tricks.
    These simple content sliders are covered everywhere, but I found nothing about such a advanced custom slider.

The sample code so far:

Html is like in the both tutorials, the ul triggers the div panels.

The .js looks like this:

Code:
    $(document).ready(function(){
    $(“#tabs”).tabs({fx:{opacity: “toggle”}}).tabs(“rotate”, 5000, true);
    $(“.ui-tabs-panel”).hover(function() { $(“.caption”, this).stop().animate({top:’260px’},{queue:false,duration:160}); },
    function() { $(“.caption”, this).stop().animate({top:’380px’},{queue:false,duration:160}); });
    });