Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

article preview that takes you to the actual article page.

• # November 1, 2013 at 8:59 pm

as i mentioned before i am new to PHP and MYSQL. This is a question that i cant seem to find the answer for on google(maybe because i don’t know how to ask it). So i’m going to ask my question as clear as i can.

I’m working on a blog and this blog has a page that shows the preview of the many posts and a “read more” button that takes them to the page were the full article is written. Thats something that i don’t know how to do dynamically. When i add a new post to my blog, how do i present the preview on the home page, and have the user click the “read more” button that takes them to the actual article? i want to do this automatically every time i post a new article.

PS. I know how to retrieve data from MYSQL so you can skip that. Maybe pointing me to the right tutorial can be helpful. Thank you.

# November 2, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Depends what you use. Did you code that all from scratch yourself, or are you using a specific platform such as WordPress or something…?

# November 2, 2013 at 9:28 pm

I coded it myself using a few tutorials from youtube. Basically what i will be adding as the actual article to the database is this.

<!--content-->
                <div class="content_aligner">
                    <?php
                        $sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM articles ORDER BY id DESC");
                        while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)) {
                            $title = $row['title'];
                            $content = $row['content'];
                            $written_by = $row['written_by'];
                            $written_on = $row['written_on'];
                            $category = $row['category'];
                    ?>
                    <div class="content_wrapper shadow">
                        <div class="content_title shadow"><h1><?php echo $title;?></h1></div>